LaLa's Blog

My thoughts put into words

~College~ January 11, 2013

Filed under: Goals,Who I am — larenar13 @ 11:15 pm

This will be my second semester in a row that I am taking classes…doesn’t sound that great, but I have actually never been able to complete two semesters back to back.  I’m not sure why exactly.  If I complete this semester, it will be my first time doing so in a spring semester.  I have a long past of attempting to take fall classes and quitting due to anxiety or falling behind, or whatever reasons.  After failing to complete fall classes I usually give up and don’t even try in the spring.  In the fall of 2011, however, I did exceptionally well.  I took and passed 4 classes.  I gained confidence in myself after that so I signed up for spring classes….but I quit them because of the large amount of anxiety and negativity in other aspects of my life.  I simply couldn’t focus.  So I tried again this past fall and actually really enjoyed the one class I was in.  I passed with flying colors!  Here I am trying again to succeed in the spring.  I’m not so sure why it has been so difficult for me in the past.  I used to think it was because I tend to be more emotionally unstable during the months of February through April, but I cannot use that as an excuse anymore.  I want to prove to myself that I can do anything I set my mind to.  

I am also applying to Dental Hygiene school this month.  I used to have doubts about my ability to get in but I have new found confidence in myself here lately.  The school that I am applying to is in Roanoke, VA, which is over 3 hours away =(  There isn’t much to do around there so I will have little to distract me from my studies, but I’m not so sure if I’m comfortable moving so far away.  I do have other options but I would have to wait another whole year to apply.  I would much rather go somewhere closer.  Nevertheless, I am still going to apply, even if I decide not to go.  

It is only the first week, but I feel like this semester should go smoothly as long as I keep up with my studies.  Since I have rid myself of a lot of negative things in my life (crappy friends, bad habits, etc) hopefully it shouldn’t be difficult for me to focus on school.  Wish me luck!  

 

One Response to “~College~”

  1. I know you will do great this semester I was so proud of you last fall you did so well better than Iv ever done in school and I will always wish you my best luck with all your classes and I’m so proud of you for applying in Roanoke and I want you to know that I will always support you no matter what path you choose to go and I promise you that if you do decide to go to Roanoke I will come visit you all the time and that’s a promise I tend to keep 🙂


Leave a Reply

