LaLa's Blog

My thoughts put into words

Less than Happy Birthday March 17, 2013

Filed under: Goals,Good to know,Relationships,Who I am — larenar13 @ 10:02 am

It seems that with each passing year, I always have something missing on my birthday that wasn’t missing the previous year.  This year, I have lost another person very dear to me, Sheila Wright.  I didn’t receive my usual “Happy Birthday” from her and it just feels so different without her around.  I also had a couple friends last year that I do not have this year…instead those same people are the ones who try to bring me down and they have become quite vicious enemies.  Despite the drama that comes with having to see them around town, I am still relieved to have them out of my life because I am better off without them and I am a better person because of it.  On the plus side, I have gained some amazing “true” friends who are REAL and don’t pretend or lie to me.  For that I am thankful.  It still baffles me how some people treat others and how you can think you know someone but be completely wrong about them.  I guess the better I become, the easier it is for me to see the wrong that other people do…some of the same things that I used to do.  I know I am still not perfect; I never will be.  But I am able to recognize my faults and failures and move forward.  My birthday was a bit sad this year, especially since i combined alcohol with someone already emotional (me).  But every negative experience has the potential to create a positive lesson.  I already know what I will do differently next year for my birthday and I have discovered even more changes that I want to make.  Change is a never-ending process but I am working at it and I won’t give up.  

 

Leave a Reply

